Some people leave very deep tracks

In most cases it takes a few minutes to decide if you like someone new that came across your path, a week or two for them to really grow on you and a months to feel that they really made a difference in your life…and sometimes they even leave your path before most of the above happens.

There’s also a complete opposite scenario. For some people you can’t immediately decide if you like them, they start to grow on you, but mostly because circumstances “force” you to be in each others company almost all of the time, and then just before they have to leave, you realize in how many ways they really made a difference in your life.

Melaan (lets call her that) moved in with me (and my three other house mates). Studied theology (yes she’s like a pastor), traveled the world, and in the first chat we had, I already heard the passion in her voice when she talked about unprivileged kids. Weekend after weekend we spend alone in the big house and thus got to know each other well. Now eight months later she’s off to Pretoria, and I can’t begin to describe what huge difference she made in my life, and the children’s lives. She didn’t let anyone alter the way she wanted to do things. Within the first three weeks she already was in trouble because of the way she she did teaching in her classroom. The learners complained to their parents, and the parent complained to the headmaster… At the end of 2011 that same children brought her gifts and when she announced that she was going to leave, they were the ones who cried the most. Never had I seen someone who made such a big impact in such a short time. Even the financial lady came to say goodbye.

Melaan, you were only here for eight months, but you will be in my heart forever. Thank for making me believe in things I would have never believed in. I’m going to miss you and believe me, I’m not going to be the only one.

About Die reis

So....I really believe that I’m not the only person feeling this way. Like Lucius Annaeus Seneca  put it: "If one does not know to which port one is sailing, no wind is favorable." And that's exactly my problem...I have no idea where I want to be. I’m content in the moment, but is constantly restless about the future. I have too much of a hunger for success and fulfillment to just leave it there, but never in my life have I had a clear picture of where I want to be. Therefore I want to make life about the journey. I want to appreciate life for what it is, and not let the small things pass me by without noticing them. For the "where do I want to be?"...maybe I will find out along the way.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

