That made me think

 

Today in my biology class, one of my learners asked me a question.

“Mam, if you could have any job you want, like ANY job, what will you choose?”

I’m currently considering a career change. Not because I don’t like teaching, but because being a teacher was never part of the plan…not that I really ever had a plan. Like old wise people like to tell you: You regret the things that you didn’t do more than the things that you did do. So I want to try some other things. I completed a bachelors degree in Biodiversity and ecology and therefore I decided that I will either study again and do a honours degree, or do an internship with an environmental management company.

Anyway, when she asked me that question, the only answer I could think of were “an environmental scientist”. And I thought: what did this tedious society do to me. Have my entry into the working community dulled my vivid imagination people used to comment on? Surely if I could be anything, like ANYTHING I want to be, I would not choose to become a environmental scientist.

Did they steal my imagination? (Credit: careeraddict.com)

That led me to think: What would I want to do if I could do ANYTHING? If money, qualifications and certain responsibilities didn’t exist?

What do I want to be?

 

About Die reis

So....I really believe that I’m not the only person feeling this way. Like Lucius Annaeus Seneca  put it: "If one does not know to which port one is sailing, no wind is favorable." And that's exactly my problem...I have no idea where I want to be. I’m content in the moment, but is constantly restless about the future. I have too much of a hunger for success and fulfillment to just leave it there, but never in my life have I had a clear picture of where I want to be. Therefore I want to make life about the journey. I want to appreciate life for what it is, and not let the small things pass me by without noticing them. For the "where do I want to be?"...maybe I will find out along the way.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to That made me think

  1. ARE THE BILLS BEING PAID? PLEASE DON’T JUMP SHIP YET! OR DO WHAT WE DO—OUR BLOGGING ON THE SIDE!!! 🙂 http://bythemightymumford.wordpress.com/

  2. Reblogged this on By the Mighty Mumford and commented:
    SHOCKING, AIN’T IT????

Leave a Reply

