He must be an artist

I grew up in the “platteland” (country side) of South Africa. My grandmother lives close by and I spend most of my weekends at her house. She is a simple woman. I remember planting beans with her, helping her in her vegetable garden, making tea on the fire in the field and fishing in the neighboring farm’s dam. She spent all her time working on the farm, looking after her sheep, cattle, geese and chickens, not to mention all her cats and dogs. She never spent much time in town, let alone gone to the city.

She turned 87 on the 30th of November, and on the Friday before her birthday my brother took her to my aunt’s house in the suburbs of Cape town to celebrate her birthday with our family. I arrived early and went with my aunt to a nearby shopping mall. We didn’t want to leave my grandmother alone at home, so we took her with us. I sat with her in a coffee shop whilst my aunt did some last minute grocery shopping. She was quiet, just looking at all the people passing our table. We sat like that for a while. Then she looked at me with a completely astonished look on her face, her eyes opened a little wider that usual and then said:

“I sometimes wonder, ‘Where did God get all of these faces?'”

 

 

About Die reis

So....I really believe that I’m not the only person feeling this way. Like Lucius Annaeus Seneca  put it: "If one does not know to which port one is sailing, no wind is favorable." And that's exactly my problem...I have no idea where I want to be. I’m content in the moment, but is constantly restless about the future. I have too much of a hunger for success and fulfillment to just leave it there, but never in my life have I had a clear picture of where I want to be. Therefore I want to make life about the journey. I want to appreciate life for what it is, and not let the small things pass me by without noticing them. For the "where do I want to be?"...maybe I will find out along the way.
This entry was posted in Life, Quotes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to He must be an artist

Leave a Reply

