The year I stopped trying so hard

This heading contradicts what I believe in and what I don’t believe in. Firstly the words “stop trying” might indicate that I see a problem with trying. I don’t. No one that ever succeeded did so by not trying. And the harder you try, the better the chances of success. Secondly the words “The year” might falsely indicate that I do new-years resolutions. I don’t. I firmly believe that if you want to change something, you don’t wait for a new year. You start now. If you are not willing to start now, you probable will never be.  So please allow me to explain myself. 

The words “the year”: It is merely an coincidence that I made this decision in the beginning of a new year.

For the trying part: I try way too hard for the wrong reasons and the wrong things. For instance: I try to hard to satisfy everyone. I try to hard to be liked. I feel guilty if I accidentally did or said something really small that MIGHT have upset or hurt someone or even MIGHT have made someone like me less. I think about every word I’m about to say to try and see how I will come across. I even did not post stuff on this blog because I felt that it was to different from my other posts and some of my follower (of which I only have a few ;)) would not like it. (I’m not even joking.)

trying

So here’s to 2017 – The year I stopped trying so hard. (Also, brace yourself for posts you might not like.)

About Die reis

So....I really believe that I’m not the only person feeling this way. Like Lucius Annaeus Seneca  put it: "If one does not know to which port one is sailing, no wind is favorable." And that's exactly my problem...I have no idea where I want to be. I’m content in the moment, but is constantly restless about the future. I have too much of a hunger for success and fulfillment to just leave it there, but never in my life have I had a clear picture of where I want to be. Therefore I want to make life about the journey. I want to appreciate life for what it is, and not let the small things pass me by without noticing them. For the "where do I want to be?"...maybe I will find out along the way.
This entry was posted in Life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

